Silver & Gold – A little Rub’n Buff action

So, I have decided to do a complete makeover of my living room decor.  Everything I have in that room is from my old house, bought specifically for that house.  I used what I had to make it work when I came here, but it just isn’t giving me the warm fuzzies in this “new” house.  So I set out to make some changes for as little cash money as possible!

While I am putting the finishing touches on one of the bigger changes, I’ll share a small change I made that was literally an “under $10, only took 5 minutes” project!!

I was doing a little accessory browsing at TJ Maxx recently and I came across this awesome silver vase for $3.

Silver Vase

I loved its curvy pear shape and the detail of the bottom, but it was the wrong finish for my new living room scheme.

I remembered the amazing invention of this stuff……..

IMG_2879

I have been wanting to try this stuff out for the longest time, but gold wasn’t an option in my house until my new design scheme was born.  So with $6 of Rub’n Buff and my $3 vase, I got to work.

I had read the best method was to apply the paint with your finger tip.  The instructions say to use a brush, finger tip or rag.

RubnBuff1

I put a pea-sized glob on my finger and rubbed it on the vase.  A little really goes a long way with this stuff.  Once I covered an area, I let it sit for a few seconds.  Then I took a clean rag and “buffed”, in a circular motion, over the area I just “rubbed” on with my finger.

RubnBuff 2

Some tips I learned quickly that I figured I would share……….

1.  Make sure each area of the item you are rubbing & buffing is fully covered with the paint. If there are any thin areas, the buffing will easily take some of the color off.

2.  Work sections at a time.  Allowing it to fully dry on each area makes the buffing a little tougher and doesn’t allow for a finish with some variation. So buff as you go rather than rubbing color on the whole thing first then buffing.

3.  The instructions say to use this in a well ventilated area…………follow the directions.  This stuff is pretty strong. I had the windows open in the dining room and the smell was around for a few hours after.

4.  When working with a vase like this, DON’T stick your finger in the top while working on the bottom portion if you don’t want it to get stuck.  I was stuck in this thing like a Chinese finger trap.  After a few minutes of mild panic where I contemplated smashing the vase to get it off (or driving to the ER with a vase stuck on my finger to save the $3 vase), I relaxed and wiggled my finger out!

RubnBuff3

5.  The instructions say to use soap and water or mineral spirits to clean your skin when finished.  I just used dish soap and water, and with a little scrubbing, the paint came off pretty easily.

This stuff dries very quickly and after about 5 minutes of rubbing & buffing, the vase was finished. It wasn’t tacky to the touch or anything.

Rub N Buff After 1

I left the finish on the bottom of the vase a little splotchy to give it a little more visual interest with just a SMIDGE of the silver poking through.

I love it!! And Rub’n Buff couldn’t be any easier to use!! I’m a fan! I have been thinking what else I can transform throughout the house! Silverware? Cups? Lamps? The whole house may be gold soon!!!

Rub N Buff After

2 thoughts on “Silver & Gold – A little Rub’n Buff action

  1. Pingback: My Table Scares Me |

Leave a Reply

