High Five for Friday (sort of)!!

Hey hey!! It has been two weeks since my last post.  I was away last week on vacation and somehow needed a week to recuperate/do laundry/get back into work/the gym, etc. House projects have totally taken a back seat, hence no posts!!  I definitely need to get myself moving this weekend!

Rather than my normal High Five for Friday post, I am going to do a High Five for Vacation post and share my whirlwind week of vacation with my fella and his daughter.  If you follow me on Instagram you may have seen some of this adventure already.

First stop, Philadelphia……we went to the Philadelphia Zoo and Dave & Busters (restaurant and huge arcade) on the first day….

IMG_2849

I haven’t been to the zoo in years. I loved it!! The giraffes were awesome. I just love them (although the whole time I thought about what an awesome pattern their coat would make for a jacket – faux of course!!!) The flamingos were pretty busy, but the polar bears and gorillas were not.  Check out that guy sleeping with his leg up on the wall! Hilarious!! We spent a good half hour watching two monkeys fight while a giant orangutan just watched in disgust.  Definitely my favorite part of the zoo.

We were staying overnight in Philly so that night we decided to trek down to historic Philadelphia and took in the Liberty Bell (from outside – after hours) and Independence Hall.

IMG_2857

Yes, that really is my fella’s giant nose and glasses. KIDDING!!! I just choose to not put him up here on blast!

Living right outside of Philly all my life, I have never had an authentic Philadelphia cheese steak.  So for dinner we decided to split one from the infamous Pat’s Steaks. We couldn’t decide between Pat’s or Gino’s but the longer line outside of Pat’s sold us.  It was definitely yummy!

IMG_2743

The next day we went to the Franklin Institute (I haven’t been there in years either, but I definitely remember sleeping over for school one time!) and the Camden Aquarium.  IMG_2758

There was some sting ray feeding from the other two in my group but there was no way I was putting a headless fish in the water for those things to eat out of my hand. I just took pictures!!

The next day was an “off” day, but that night I went to my first Phillies game of the season with my mom. I got free tickets and haven’t been to a game yet this year so I had to do it! It was the first time I have gone to a game that they won!!!

IMG_2850

I didn’t realize I took that first picture when a Cubs player was on the screen. Whoops! And I totally love the Phanatic.  He is hilarious.  If I ever find myself out of a job, I’m applying to be the Phanatic.  Fun job!!

The next day we were off to the beach for 3 days.  That is my perfect vacation!! I could spend a lifetime relaxing on the beach listening to the waves and sunning!!

IMG_2852

We did some sundown seashell searching, ferris wheel riding and walking on the boardwalk.  The weather was decent on day 2 and our 3 days flew by.

Next we were off to northern New Jersey to my fella’s sister’s house.  We took in a Yankees game – since he is a Yankees fan.

IMG_2853

Me? Not so much.  He made me wear this shirt after I threatened to wear a Phillies shirt to the game! At least I paid my respects to my home team earlier in the week!

The next day we hit up the NJ State Fair in my fella’s hometown.  That was quite an experience!!!  First up, the animals…..

IMG_2854

There were pig races, a petting zoo, hilarious chickens with mohawks, pigs, and sheep wearing t-shirts.  I just kept walking around saying “look at that one!!!”  This city girl didn’t grow up around animals and my fella just laughed at me the whole time.

Then there was deliciously horrible food to be eaten and interesting sights to be seen……….

IMG_2855

I devoured that corn dog (yes I realize the irony when there were plenty of live pigs to be seen at the fair!) and that funnel cake. I taste tested my fellas sausage and pepper sandwich just to make sure it was okay!!!!   I definitely needed to hit the gym hard when I came back home this week.  But it was delicious!

You could also pay $1 to get into see Spidora the living spider woman (she talks to you!) and the headless woman! It took all self-control to not shell out the $2 to see these wonders of the world! HA!

And then there is this wonder of the world………

IMG_2856

While waiting for the kids on the rides we posed in our bathing suits and got this gem taken.  Hilarious!!!!

Overall it was a good vacation. Lots of time in the car traveling from here to there, but it was fun!!

I’ll be back next week with some house related stuff (hopefully!!)

Happy Weekend!!!!

 photo H54Fbutton-1_zpsa7aaa665.png

Leave a Reply

