White & Bright!

Hey Hey!! I am back from Vegas and with the 3 hour time change, jet lag, and little-to-no sleep the entire trip, my entire week has been pretty much a waste!

I wanted to share one of the early projects I completed when I moved into the house.

You can catch a glimpse of it here…..

IMG_3728

My house was blessed with lots of built-in storage options in several of the rooms. One of my favorites is this built-in dresser and storage cubby area in my bedroom next to my bed.  HOWEVER, I was not in-love with it in all of its original glory……

IMG_3536

Orange wood and gold knobs….it stuck out like a sore thumb.  I knew immediately I wanted to paint it white to help it blend into the closet more and look like a seamless wall of storage.

I took the drawers down to my dining room (my official indoor painting area) and spread them out on a tarp.  I lightly sanded them to remove the glossy top coat.  Each drawer got two coats of Kilz primer, with a light sanding in-between each coat.

IMG_3543

I did the same with the actual built-in dresser, just a little lighter sanding (I was just too lazy to deal with dust in the bedroom!!!)

IMG_3540

I sadly didn’t take any during shots……but for the actual paint I used Valspar’s Swiss Coffee color matched to Olympic Premium No VOC paint.  I just hate the smell of Valspar paint. Olympic doesn’t smell and the no VOC thing is a plus.  I tried using a cabinet roller but didn’t like the finish so I used a small handled brush to get a smooth finish.

I knew I wanted fabulous knobs for this space to flow into my feminine bedroom plan.  I know of no better place to get cute, original knobs than Hobby Lobby!  I mean look at that huge aisle of knobs!!!

IMG_2324

Look at these awesome options! I wish I had other places in my house for these knobs!

IMG_2327 IMG_2325 IMG_2326

This white rose option fit my “girly” theme perfectly but I wanted something a little more dramatic against the white paint. I settled on these…….

IMG_3545

Cute, classic, mercury glass knobs.  I knew they were the right mix of feminine yet chic for the space.  And at $2.99 a piece, I was sold!!!

Once everything was put back together, I was in love!!!!

IMG_2519

So much better than before right?? It’s amazing what a few coats of paint can do to change a space!!!

Leave a Reply

